Skip to content

A weekend with the iPad…

April 26, 2010

What a weekend! I had over three people tell me they hate me in three days! Normally, this would cause concern. However, I know that their hatred is misplaced envy over my new iPad. And, believe me, their feelings are valid.

It all started when my assistant Kathy snuck into our department meeting to tell me she had a surprise for me. I didn’t think much of it until it hit me: my iPad must have come in. That feeling can only be compared to finding out your having a child or that the Astros are going to the World Series. As she entered my office with the box, I choked back the tears, cracked open the seal and saw a blinding flash of light and heard angels sing when I saw this beautiful piece of technology. After an hour of working with the settings and exploring the apps, I began my strut around the office and the envy ensued. Though I know I should have felt guilty, somehow I didn’t.

Next came the surprise for my sons, Jake (8) and Billy (6). As I picked them up at school I told them that mommy got a surprise today that I could not wait to show them. When we got home and revealed the technology my oldest said, “oh, its the iPad.” Realizing that they are digital natives, I decided not to ground him for his lack of enthusiasm. As the weekend went on and family and friends began to notice my digital absence, people started dropping by the house. Time and again their words were: “I hate you.” My response was: “jealous much?”

Here is what I love so far:

  • Netflix: I watched three movies through my wireless N+ router streaming to the iPad with no glitches and a beautiful picture.
  • The Calendar: It looks like my old Franklin daily planner with a beautiful interface and many options for viewing
  • the Mail: It is also a beautiful interface and offers a preview of your emails.
  • Words With Friends HD: I love Words With Friends, even though I am not very good at all. However, now I get slaughtered in HD with another beautiful interface.
  • iBooks: there are several free classics available, including Rudyard Kipling’s Riki Tiki Tavi. I spent my Saturday morning reading it with my youngest son.
  • The keyboard: you almost have a full-size keyboard. It is a great improvement over the iPod Touch and is much faster for me. Warning: not made for man-hands.
  • The battery: I tried to run out the battery on Saturday and couldn’t. I am beginning to think nine hours is really nine hours.

I would love to hear your thoughts on the new iPad. Feel free to tell me how much you hate me. Also, when you get yours, tell me how much you love it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

