Skip to content

Fridays with your iPad…My iPad Powerpoint…

July 30, 2010

I have been asked several times over the last week: “Can you show a PowerPoint with iPad?” Yes, yes you can. And, it’s not as hard as you might think. I chose to use the Keynote App (available from iTunes for $9.99). The trick is to know how to get your PowerPoint to your iPad and then how to display your PowerPoint once it is there.

I started with a basic PowerPoint in Office 2007:

I saved the PowerPoint to My Documents, then I opened iTunes. Once in iTunes, select your iPad from the list on the left. Then, click on the Apps tab. At the bottom of the window is the File Sharing feature for the iPad.

Select Keynote, then browse your computer to find the PowerPoint file you wish to load on your iPad:

Then click Apply in the bottom right hand corner of the iTunes window and the iPad will sync with your computer and add the file to your iPad.

Once your iPad and iTunes have completed their sync, open Keynote, click on my Presentations and then open your file:

Select your PowerPoint, and it will appear and be editable in Keynote. However, there may be some differences between the two.

My iPad PowerPoint in Keynote

Let’s compare the two:

PowerPoint 2007

Slide One

Slide Two

KeyNote:

Slide One

Slide Two

Comments are closed.

